Report :- Abha

New Delhi : Chhath puja is a festival which is celebrated in parts of the county like Jharkhand, Bihar, Chhatisgarh. This puja is done by worshipping Sun God and his wife Usha for protecting my motherland and maintaining life on Earth. Chhath Puja ks a festival which is celebrated four days, so this year it will be celebrated from November 20 to November 23. This puja is followed by bathing, fasting and drinking water।


Puja will commence on November 20 with the Sunrise (6:48 AM). The best date is one day before the Chhath puja starts that is on 19th November.
Shubh Muhurat starts at 9:29 PM and ends at 9:58 PM।

Chhath puja is a four days festival, so each day has its significance. So, let’s have a brief understanding.

  1. NAHAY KHAY (November 20)
    It is a first day where people starts their puja on the Chaturthi of Kartik Shukla
    Paksha. After taking bath, people wear new clothes and they offer Arghya ( Suraj ko jal) to Sun God।

2.KHARNA (November 21)
It is the second day of the festival which is termed as ‘Panchami Tithi of Kartik Shukla’. On this day, women keep fast which is known as kharna. In this, beer is prepared with rice and jaggery. Rice pits and ghee roti are kept as Khai prasad।

3.SURYA SHASTHI (November 22)
It is considered to be the third day of Chhath Puja. On this day, people take bath in a river and pray to Sun God and offer him some fruits followed by prasad which are decorated in a basket made of bamboo।

4.USHA ARGYA (November 23)
Last day of celebration in which people give jal to the sun and distributes prasad after worshipping him।

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *